Skip to content

Wherein Roy Miller makes things worse on himself. Somehow.

Mar 14, 2013, 11:05 AM EDT

Roy Miller head shot

Let’s quickly review everything that Roy Miller did wrong last week in a New York Red Bulls collapse in San Jose, when 10 mad minutes turned a potentially delightful road win for Mike Petke’s side into a dreadful loss, one that we are still talking about.

He committed a foul just outside the penalty area, supplying the Earthquakes with a wonderful set-piece opportunity.

His handball inside the penalty area gave San Jose the spot shot that turned into the winning goal.

The Costa Rican international encroached on Chris Wondolowski’s penalty kick, which Luis Robles saved. Miller’s silly, premature run into the 18 gave “Wondo” a second chance, which he finished with authority.

And now this, his inconceivable explanation:

I did it on purpose with the thought that Wondolowski would miss. Simply, I wasn’t in agreement with the situation that was going on and the penalty kick being given, because for me, the handball didn’t have to be called but some refs call it and some don’t. … I did it so that if [Wondolowski] made it, he would have to do it again and then he missed. I had the unfortunate luck that Luis saved the initial attempt.”

Holy oblivion, batman!

Here’s the thing: If Wondolowski’s initial penalty kick was successful, referee Ricardo Salazar would have pointed to the center. Goal!

No referee would order a re-take in that situation. Thus, Miller’s action was even more senseless than it seemed.

Make a mistake is one thing. Making a couple of them is a trend indicator worth examination. But not knowing the laws of the game? As a professional, that is 100 percent inexcusable.

  1. solador78 - Mar 14, 2013 at 11:36 AM

    If this soccer thing doesn’t work out, Roy Miller Hernández can always get a job from the NJ mob, answering the phone at one their illegal Costa Rican sportsbooks.

  2. njsurfchick - Mar 14, 2013 at 11:45 AM

    If he starts or comes off the bench Saturday, it’s gonna sound ugly at RB Arena. I’ll gladly help.

    • Steve Davis - Mar 14, 2013 at 12:04 PM

      Seriously though, how could Mike Petke start the guy now? This is an early test for the rookie manager, because he simply cannot deliver the message that this kind of inattention (I am talking about everything that went on, not just his ignorance of the game’s laws … although that, too) will be tolerated.

  3. jerichowhiskey - Mar 14, 2013 at 12:07 PM

    I am glad Miller has been called up. I hope USMNT takes advantage of his inability to defend and I will watch the game with glee up in Montreal.

  4. paladinvt - Mar 14, 2013 at 12:09 PM

    It’s not that a referee would not order a re-take in that situation (implying that there is discretion here), it’s that in that situation the referee is required to award the goal. If the attacking player scores a goal from a penalty kick and a defending player encroaches, the result is a goal. See the matrix on p. 129 of the current Laws of the Game pamphlet, interpreting Law 14 (but it’s pretty clear from just reading Law 14 that is the case).

  5. ricecloudnine - Mar 14, 2013 at 12:18 PM

    This only confirms my suspicion (based on current players on the field and former players in the booth/studio) that a large number of players don’t really know the Laws of the Game.

    • Steve Davis - Mar 14, 2013 at 1:16 PM

      How many doggone times have we seen a player commit a bad tackle, get booked, and then protest with “That’s my first foul!” As if that has anything to do with it … not technically, anyway.

  6. paladinvt - Mar 14, 2013 at 12:31 PM

    They do not. I was listening to one commentator talking about how “intent” had been removed from the rulebook in all cases, in the context of whether a free kick for handball should have been awarded. Of course, handling the ball is the one place in the Laws of the Game where intent was not removed (the law says a free kick must be awarded if an opponent “handles the ball deliberately). Failprep for that guy.

  7. orbmech - Mar 14, 2013 at 12:47 PM

    I propose that penalty kick encroachment now be called “a Miller”.

  8. charliej11 - Mar 14, 2013 at 2:44 PM

    Even if he was somehow right, wouldn’t that be a call from the bench ? Come on. One of my players did that on his own, I would go ballistic.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Premier League, Week 3 review