Skip to content

Toronto FC’s Robert Earnshaw makes a difference, as usual

Apr 20, 2013, 6:50 PM EDT

Robert Earnshaw headshot

Toronto FC striker Robert Earnshaw works in breakaways the way Apple works in high-tech cool or the way Emeril Legasse works in Cajun food. That is to say, the man knows how to make these things work.

He’s at the top of the league scoring charts for his ability (through some combination of fortune, instinct and timing) to get behind defenses and make things happen. Usually, it’s a goal – but not always.

Thanks to Jeremy Hall’s well-placed left-footer Saturday, Toronto had moved ahead against reigning Eastern Conference champion Houston at home. Ultimately the Reds would give up a late goal and get just a point from the afternoon. But Earnshaw played a big part in securing at least a point.

His “big part” was framed, of course, around a breakaway.

In the 62nd minute Earnshaw was breaking in behind the Dynamo back line. Houston defender Jermaine Taylor got a hand up near the Welsh striker’s face and – well, you can be the judge on whether there was sufficient contact to warrant the red card that Taylor was shown. The clip is below.

(MORE: TFC throws away the points late; Houston rallies for the draw)

Forced to play a man down for more than 30 minutes, the Dynamo was surely happy to sneak away with a 1-1 draw. So, Earnshaw’s ability to make mayhem was a major factor. Earnshaw also affected Saturday’s match with all his work and smart off-the-ball movement. (Justin Braun did a lot to make the Dynamo defense work, too.)

Here is the Taylor-Earnshaw sequence that changed the game, subtracting significantly from any Dynamo chances of a road rally; playing on the road a man down, Dominic Kinnear’s team created precious few chances for any potential equalizer, but did find one right at the very end.

.

  1. term3186 - Apr 20, 2013 at 7:19 PM

    Awful awful call. I’m extremely curious as to whether the red was for DOGSO or for VC/SFP. Either way its a bad call. Taylor has position on Earnshaw, and Earnshaw goes down like he’s been shot at the slightest brush once he realizes that Taylor has him beat. And its not his only dive of the game. MLS DC needs to take a hard look at this guy. There is a straight-on angle that was shown live that isn’t in this highlight. Was there contact? Sure, but it wasn’t a foul, especially based on what was being allowed during the game.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!