Skip to content

Should Sylvain Distin’s goal against Liverpool been allowed to stand?

May 5, 2013, 1:20 PM EDT

Liverpool v Everton - Premier League Getty Images

Should Sylvain Distin’s goal against Liverpool been allowed to stand?

The moment came on a Leighton Baines corner-kick in the 55th minute.

Victor Anichebe was posted up in the center of the goal mouth about three yards behind Liverpool goalkeeper Pepe Reina. Jose Enrique was marking Anichebe and with his right hand, had a full grasp of the Nigerian’s kit. As the corner came in Anichebe and Reina each took one step forward in anticipation of Baines’ cross. By this time, Enrique had lost Anichebe and had both hands on the striker’s back, giving him a slight push.

Meanwhile, Sylvain Distin was making his run from the top of the 18 yard box. The Frenchman was marked tight (at least, initially) by Jamie Carragher, and took a direct route to the far post.

In mid-flight of the cross, Reina and Anichebe both recognized it was heading to the far post. Anichebe was the first to move right and Reina followed shortly thereafter. In doing so, the Spaniard turned into Anichebe’s back and fell to the ground.

By this time Carragher had lost Distin. Out of sorts and beaten, Carragher scrambled while Distin rose high to meet Baines’ cross and thumped it into the back of the net from 2 yards out.

The split second before Distin connected with the cross, Oliver had blown his whistle signaling Anichebe for an infringement on Reina. Replays show that Anichebe simply maintained his ground as Reina fell into him.

So the question has to be asked: Was this a foul? If so, why?

An offensive player who hits a keeper on a set-piece kick should always be whistled for a foul. But a keeper who collides with the opposition? That seems like a harsh decision and one that makes for poor precedence going forward.

For Everton, the goal would not only have helped put an end to their 14 year drought at Anfield but, more importantly, would have kept the Toffees within arms-length of 5th place Tottenham and a spot in the Europa League. With the draw however, David Moyes’ side is now five points back with two matches to play (and Spurs have a game in hand).

 

Check out the incident, which begins at 1 min 57 sec.

  1. billobrienschindimple - May 5, 2013 at 3:21 PM

    Thing that I can think of is that because he had just warned those two players he was looking for any reason to blow his whistle. As soon as any contact was made, or someone went down his mind is already made up that it was coming out. Having said that, for me it was a goal. But it’s karma for the same thing happening in the reverse fixture. Overall, A very lackluster Derby.

  2. socamr - May 5, 2013 at 6:03 PM

    Hey guys, post a video. Those of us who didn’t see the match have no way of being able to comment.

  3. term3186 - May 5, 2013 at 8:01 PM

    Tough to say without a video. Was the subsequent FK direct or indirect? Not sure what direct kick foul could’ve possible been called, but if the striker was blocking the keeper and preventing him from getting to the far post, it sure sounds like impedance.

    An indirect free kick is also awarded to the opposing team if, in the opinion of the referee, a player:

    impedes the progress of an opponent

  4. chadmoon1 - May 6, 2013 at 11:44 AM

    It was a foul. Anichebe stood and waited for the goalkeeper to start back towards the flight of the ball. He had his eyes on Raina the entire time. You can always tell the intent of a player by where he is looking. He gave Raina a bump inside the 6, so it was an indesputable foul.

    And I was rooting for Everton. Has anyone else noticed that David Moyes has become a crybaby bitch this year?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Breaking down Di Maria, Balotelli deals