Skip to content

List of nations now qualified for World Cup 2014 in Brazil

Sep 11, 2013, 2:03 AM EDT

The United States wasn’t the only team to book its trip into Brazil for 2014 on Tuesday. Costa Rica joins the United States from the CONCACAF region, leaving four teams (including zonal favorites Mexico) to battle for one remaining automatic berth, plus the play-in spot against New Zealand.

Argentina, the Netherlands and Italy already qualified on Tuesday. Here is the full list of 10 nations, including Brazil, which has a spot as host nation:



  1. jerichowhiskey - Sep 11, 2013 at 11:56 AM

    Good to see South Korea back.

    • sfrunning - Sep 12, 2013 at 8:29 PM

      South Korea– welcome back indeed! They are a really fun team to watch, very fast, skilled, a joy to watch I saw them play live in Oakland, CA, across the Bay from San Francisco years ago, and their fans are fantastic! The CONCACAF team they played against were so impressed, their fans started cheering along with the Koreans. Good for them, indeed, welcome back!

  2. Anoesis - Sep 12, 2013 at 11:50 AM

    I say we use the Spanish version of our name, Estados Unidos, in order to be above Iran in that list. Oh, and to piss off Mexico.

    • mikeevergreen - Sep 12, 2013 at 6:54 PM

      The official name of Mexico is Estados Unidos Mexicanos. We’re a better “United States” than they are!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

PST Extra: Analyzing transfer deadline day