Oct 31, 2013, 9:15 PM EDT
Even after being charged by the English Football Association, Hull City manager Steve Bruce defended his comments that were critical of referee Michael Oliver on Sunday. His team lost 1-0 after Oliver awarded Tottenham Hotspur a penalty when a ball hit Ahmed Elmohamady in the hand in the penalty area.
“I have to ask the question, would we have got it?” Bruce asked (via Sky Sports) after the match. “In my opinion, he (Oliver) couldn’t wait to give it.”
On Thursday, the FA charged him because his comments “called into question the integrity of the match referee, and/or implied that the match referee was motivated by bias; and/or brought the game into disrepute,” according to a statement on its website.
After Hull’s League Cup match on Wednesday, a loss in penalties to the same Spurs side, Bruce acknowledged that he had been charged for his words. He also said that referee boss Mike Riley admitted to him that the penalty was incorrectly awarded.
“I’ll argue my case,” Bruce said. “It will cost me a few quid, but I’ll do it.”
- The world wants Laura Bassett to know that her own goal is nothing to be ashamed of… 0
- Minnesota United misses MLS stadium deadline; Deputy commissioner speaks out 1
- Stoppage-time own goal sinks England, sends Japan to Women’s World Cup final 5
- Stars of CONCACAF: Ranking the top 10 players at the 2015 Gold Cup 7
- “Angel Di Maria has most talent at Manchester United,” says teammate. Agree? 8
- VIDEO: Breaking down the done deals and transfer gossip in PST Extra 0