Skip to content

Manuel Pellegrini not covering himself in glory, says official was on Barca’s side “from the beginning”

Feb 19, 2014, 7:44 AM EDT

Demichelis' tackles which earned him a red card and gave Barca a PK which Messi converted. But did City deserve a 2-0 defeat in the first leg? AP

Manuel Pellegrini thinks the fix was in.

The Manchester City manager is blaming referee Jonas Eriksson for his club’s 2-0 home loss to Barcelona in the first leg of their UEFA Champions League Round of 16 tie.

Pellegrini managed to offer several scathing accusations in one fell swoop, bouncing around from Eriksson’s nationality to the referee making amends for a previous Barca match he officiated to the bias lasting the duration of the game.

It was a classless diatribe that’s sure to earn the ire — and perhaps a penalty — from UEFA.

“I think it was not a good idea to put a referee from Sweden in charge of such an important match, and a referee who made an important mistake against Barcelona in a previous match. Today he arranged it.

“The Chilean added: “The referee decided the game. He was on Barcelona’s side from the beginning until the end.”

Eriksson’s biggest call in the game was a red card and penalty kick against City’s Martin Demichelis after the beaten defender took down an “in” Lionel Messi on the edge of the 18. The City consternation came from the fact that last man back Demichelis began his tackle outside of the 18, though there’s no question that Messi had beaten his man and was primed to do what he does best.

RELATED: Cesc Fabregas tells the world FC Barcelona is not done yet

When Pellegrini started talking about going after the quadruple, he opened the door to a lot of public stresses and perhaps that big talk is making his mouth say things he shouldn’t. Some may have questions about Eriksson’s decision — I certainly do not — but to claim an official walked into the game with a plan to make amends from a match in 2012?

Come on, Manuel. So Eriksson turned down a penalty shout from Pep Guardiola in a 0-0 leg two years ago, a tie with AC Milan that Barca went on to win 3-1, and carried that guilt all the way to Manchester? Even your pal Jose Mourinho thinks you’re reaching (or just awful at mind games).

  1. chunkala - Feb 19, 2014 at 11:48 AM

    So, that tackle wasn’t a red card? This guy is such a fool. Chile the hotbed for World Cup and club success.
    Regardless of the foul’s location, FIFA should envoke hockey’s rule of a penalty shot when player is taken down by last defender.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Week 34: Sunday Recap