Skip to content

Three Liverpool players on PFA Player of the Year shortlist

Apr 18, 2014, 8:23 AM EDT

Luis Suarez celebrates scoring the first goal of his hattrick against Norwich. Luis Suarez celebrates scoring the first goal of his hattrick against Norwich.

The six nominees for the Professional Footballers’ Association’s Players of the Year award have been announced on Friday, with Liverpool Football Club dominating the list.

After their sensational season at Anfield, Luis Suarez, Steven Gerrard and Daniel Sturridge have been nominated for the PFA award. Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure, Chelsea winger Eden Hazard and Southampton’s Adam Lallana round off the six nominees. The winner will be announced on April 27.

Also revealed were the six players up for the PFA Young Player of the Year, as Sturridge and Hazard again got the nod, while Liverpool’s Raheem Sterling, Aaron Ramsey of Arsenal, Everton’s Ross Barkley and Southampton’s Luke Shaw were also nominated.

Liverpool’s star trio are likely to scoop both awards, as Suarez leads the Premier League scoring charts with 29 goals this season. Inspirational captain Gerrard has been the heartbeat of the Reds’ title charge, as they are just four games away from lifting their first league title in 24 years. As for Sturridge, the England international has scored 23 goals for Liverpool this campaign and has combined with Suarez to create the deadly S.A.S. strike partnership.

Man City midfielder Yaya Toure has been a monster in midfield, as the box-to-box Ivorian has also netted 18 times in the PL with plenty of stunning strikes. Eden Hazard has been rejuvenated under Jose Mourinho, as the Belgian magician has scored 17 times this season and bamboozled opponents with his silky skills. Another playmaker to make the top six is England international Lallana, as the Southampton academy product has been the leader of Saints’ impressive season which currently sees them sitting in eighth.

If Liverpool go onto win the title, you have to think Gerrard or Suarez will pick up the top award, with perhaps Sturridge scooping the Young Player of the Year accolade. That said, you could argue cases for all 10 players nominated to win the awards after a season of stunning individual performances in the PL.

  1. unclemosesgreen - Apr 18, 2014 at 8:59 AM

    Suarez is the leading scorer and also leads in assists. Clearly it should be his award – but the temptation will be high for a lot of voters to give Gerrard the nod based on leadership, lifetime achievement, and pure dislike of Suarez.

  2. Ian's Rushtache - Apr 18, 2014 at 9:50 AM

    Think the Player of the Year goes as follows:

    1. Suarez
    2. Toure
    3. Hazard

    Can’t see how Young Player of the Year goes anywhere but Sturridge. I think Sterling would have had the chance to overtake him had he logged more minutes, though if you go on recent form, which is freshest in the minds of voters, Sterling has surpassed Sturridge.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Premier League, Week 3 review