Skip to content

No Lionel Messi, as UEFA release shortlist for Europe’s top player award

Aug 14, 2014, 10:55 AM EDT

cristiano_ronaldo AP

On Thursday UEFA announced the shortlist for their “Best Player in Europe” award, as a few names you might have been expecting were left off the list.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Arjen Robben and Manuel Neuer are the three men who are in with a chance of winning the award, as the likes of Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez and Diego Costa didn’t make the cut.

The three players were picked as the finalists by a panel of journalists and the winner will be announced in a glitzy ceremony in Monaco on Aug. 28.

Since the award began in 2011, Ronaldo has been among the final three on every occasion but has yet to win the accolade. This year he will be seen as the clear favorite ahead of Bayern Munich duo Robben and Neuer.

Ronaldo, 28, was Real Madrid’s top scorer during the 2013-14 season and he broke the UEFA Champions League record for most goals in a single tournament with 17 as Real lifted the trophy in Lisbon in May. The Portuguese striker scored 51 goals in 47 appearances last season across all competitions.

As for Neuer, he was voted the German player of the year as Bayern were knocked out at the semifinal stage of the Champions League by Real but won the Bundesliga. Neuer is the first goalkeeper to ever make the shortlist for the reward. Dutch international and fellow Bayern star Robben has enjoyed a wonderful summer with the Netherlands as he propelled the Oranje to the semifinal stage at the World Cup with his wing-wizardry.

All three would be worthy winners of the award but we will found out who collects the gong later this month in Monaco.

The past three winners of this event: 

Franck Ribery – 2012-13
Andres Iniesta – 2011-12
Lionel Messi – 2010-11

  1. chelseaaregods - Aug 14, 2014 at 6:13 PM

    Completely ridiculous that Messi isn’t on that list. Christiano and Portugal were AWFUL in World Cup and Argentina and Messi, with Messi carrying the team, made it to the World Cup Finals! FIFA is the most ridiculous of them all, their corruption makes all of this obsolete!! Overthrow Blatter and his bribes. Pathetic!

    • bensalto17 - Aug 15, 2014 at 12:43 PM

      You do know that this is the UEFA player of the year award and not the FIFA World Cup best player award… Blatter has no control over this award, the president of UEFA id Michel Plantini. Besides, if you want to talk about corruption, Messi did good in the Group Round, not the knock-out stages. Macherano was the best Argentine player of the FIFA World Cup, yet Messi still won the award… Cristiano had a really good year with Madrid, as did Robben and Neur with Bayern Munich, which is what this award is about.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

PST Extra: Analyzing transfer deadline day